Gaa Logo St. Malachys CLG Logo

Front Page

Senior Team

Underage Teams

Club History

Club Officials

Fixture lists

Lucky Numbers




St. Malachy’s – A Brief History

 The St. Malachy’s club was founded in 1964 by Joe Clarke and Seamus Casey.  In the early years the club competed at juvenile level and the first title came to Malachy’s in 1967 when the Under 17 championship was won.

1969 saw adult teams from St. Malachys compete for the first time and success came very quickly with the junior team, led by former County Chairman, Séamus Ó Faoláin, winning the 1970 championship.  The Derrevarragh Cup was also captured in 1970.

1974 saw the annexing of the Intermediate league and this was retained in 1975. 1975 also saw the club win the Intermediate championship, beating Tyrrellspass in the final.

The club made their mark at Senior level, winning the Feis Cup in 1979 ,1980 and 2005.  1981 saw the high-point in the club’s history when the Senior title was won. After a very sluggish start to the “League” championship, St. Malachy’s came good and qualified for the final versus Athlone. St. Malachy’s took the “Flanagan Cup” on a 1-9 to 1-8 scoreline to start great celebrations in the Castletown/Dysart area.

The club played in three more finals in the eighties – 1982, 1983 and 1985 - but unfortunately success eluded us. In 1994 St. Malachys were relegated to Intermediate ranks and, indeed, the Intermediate final was contested in 1998 when Ballymore were the winners.
The Intermediate title was finally claimed in 2001 when St. Malachy’s overcame Rosemount. The club also captured the Intermediate cup in 2001.We retained senior status until we suffered relegation to the Intermediate ranks in 2012 but after a great year we came straight back up to senior level when we defeated Caulry in a replay in the 2013 final.

The Juvenile club won the Under 12 Club 2 Championship in 1991 and joined with Ballinagore to form a very successful underage partnership in 1994. This club has annexed numerous county titles the most notable being the Under 21 Premier in 2000, the Under 16 Premier in 1999 and 2009 and the Minor Premier in 1997 and 2010. 

St. Malachys have also enjoyed success off the pitch in the Scór competition, the highlight coming when Mary Garvin, Sean Fallon and Edward Bouabbse captured the All-Ireland Scór na nÓg Question Time title.

Senior Roll of Honour

To read a match report from the final please click on the relevant match. (work in progress).
Match Reports reproduced by kind permission of The Westmeath Examiner Ltd.

1970    Derrevarragh Cup
1970    Junior Championship
1974    Intermediate League
1975    Intermediate Championship
1979    Feis Cup
1980    Feis Cup
1981    Senior Championship
1981    Leinster Club Championship
1995  Division 3 League
2001    Intermediate Championship
2001    Intermediate Cup
2005    Feis Cup
2010 ACL Div 6 League
2013 Intermediate Championship
2015 ACL Div 5 League
2023 ACL Div 3 League
2023 Intermediate Championship

Underage Roll of Honour

Under 21
Ennell Shamrocks, Premier Champions 2000

Ennell Shamrocks, Premier Champions 1997
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Division 1 League Champions 2003
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 1 Champions 2004
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 2 Champions 2009
Ennell Shamrocks, Premier Champions 2010
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 2 Champions 2012

Under 17
1967    Under 17 Championship 

Lilliput Gaels, Division 1 Shield Winners 2021.
Lilliput Gaels, Division 3 League Winners 2023.

Under 16
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Division 2 League Champions 1995
Ennell Shamrocks, Premier Champions 1999
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 2 Champions 2001
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Division 2 League Champions 2003
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Division 1 League Champions 2009
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 1 Champions 2009
Ennell Shamrocks, Premier Champions 2009

St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 2 Champions 2013
Lilliput Gaels, Division 3 Championship Winners 2018.
Lillput Gaels, Division 2 League Winners 2024

Under 15
Lilliput Gaels, Div. 3 Championship Winners 2022.

Under 14
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, "A" Champions 2000
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Division 2 League Champions 2001
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Feile Shield Winners 2002
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Division 1 League Champions 2006
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 2 Champions 2007
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Division 1 Shield Winners 2011  
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Division 2 Shield Winners 2016.
Lilliput Gaels, Division 2 Championship Winners 2017.
Lilliput Gaels, Division 2 League Winners 2018. 
Lilliput Gaels, Feile Division 1 Champions 2019.
Lilliput Gaels, Division 2 League Winners 2019.

Under 13
Lilliput Gaels, Division 1 Club Shield Winners, 2023.

Under 12
St. Malachys, Club Division 2 Champions 1991
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 2 Champions 1996
St. Malachys/Ballinagore, Club Division 2 Champions 1998

The following is the Westmeath Examiner report on our clubs first ever adult match played in 1969.

St. Malachys 1-8, Streamstown 1-1.

Newly formed, St. Malachys (Dysart/Castletown area) made their debut in the Junior League a winning one when they disposed of Streamstown 1-8 to 1-1 in Streamstown on Sunday.
The winners, who led 0-1 to nil at the half time interval, proved themselves to be the faster and fitter combination, using the open spaces to their advantage and with Mattie Corcoran excelling himself at full back and Tony Linnane outstanding at centre half back, ably assisted by Mick Garvin and George Alexander, the defence held well together. Willie Carey, centre half forward, played a big part in the victory. Sean Kirby,  Johnny Shanley and Jimmy Whelan all played well.
The losers were  well served by V.  McCormack, J.J. Sheerin, S. Fox, D. Kelly, A. McCormack and S. Casey.
Scorers for  the winners were, W. Carey 1-5, J. Whelan 0-2, J. Carey 0-1. For the losers, T. Fox 1-0 and S. Casey 0-1 scored.

St. Malachys: S.  McLavin, G. Alexander, M. Corcoran, P. Dalton, M. Garvin, T. Linnane, J. Martin, D. Garvin, F. Kiernan, J. Carey, W. Carey, J. Shanley, S. Kirby, J. Gannon, J. Whelan. Sub, S. Corcoran.

Streamstown: W. Graham, JJ Sheerin, V. McCormack, S. Sheerin, P. Sheerin, S. Casey, S. Fox, T. Bermingham, A. McCormack, D. Kelly, J. Watt, T. Kelly, P. McKnight, S. Colgan, P. Farrell. Sub, T. Fox.